• Cheap California Auto Insurance – Knowing the Basics

    California Auto Insurance: Know the Law Before You Buy

    Automobile insurance is required in most states, including California. Knowing what the law requires and what it does not require can help buyers pick the best insurance for them at the most affordable price.  Go to californiaautoinsurancequote.org, to find the lowest insurance rates offered in California. Ignorance is not an excuse according to the law. Below is some useful information all California drivers should know followed by a convenient quote widget to assist you in quickly locating the best insurance rates in California.

    California Laws and Minimum Requirements for Auto Insurance

    California drivers are only required to carry liability insurance. However, anybody that possesses assets of any value is encouraged to purchase more than the minimum coverage. Most damage caused by accidents cost more than the legal minimum requirements cover. Some accidents are not covered by liability insurance at all. That is why it is advisable to carry additional coverage for personal protection. For example, drivers in California are not required to purchase no-fault coverage. Instead, PIP and UM/UIM coverage is available as optional additions to your policy. The table below shows the minimum legal insurance requirements of California and the suggested coverage.



    Most Common

    Bodily Injury Liability



    Property Damage Liability



    Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury

    Not required


    Personal Injury Protection

    Not Required

    50,000 per person

    Medical Payments

    Not required



    Not required

    500 deductible


    Not required

    250 deductible

    Each state also has its own speed limit laws. Most of the time speed limits are posted. The speed limits in California are as follows unless otherwise posted:

    Speed Limits

    Rural Interstate

    70 mph; trucks:55

    Urban Interstate

    65 mph; trucks:55

    Other Limited-Access

    70 mph; trucks 55

    Other Roads

    65 mph; trucks:55

    Where to Find Additional Information on California Auto Insurance

    A little knowledge can save big bucks. In some states, it can cost a couple hundred dollars if your registration card is not signed and you are pulled over and it is asked for. Learn more about California’s vehicle laws, regulations, and insurance requirements by visiting the following links:

    How to Find California Auto Insurance Discounts

    There are many discounts available for California automobile insurance policy. Some examples include discounts for teen drivers, multi-policy discounts and discounts for good driving records and good credit scores. Ask your insurance agent about available discounts to find the ones that apply to you.

    Car insurance is a legal requirement in California. Finding the right policy at the right price will take some work. Start by becoming familiar with the laws and then decide what is best for you. Then use the quote generator below to compare costs. Visit californiaautoinsurancequote.org, to begin finding the best rates for you.

    Start shopping for the best insurance rates today even if you already have insurance. Save money by making sure you have the best coverage for you at the best price.

    For more specific information relevant to you, check out our informative pages on these top California cities: